Seven More Students Inducted into National Honor Society

On Friday, May 10th, Hoosac School celebrated the induction of seven new members into the C. Francis Egan Chapter of the National Honor Society. Leah Magee '19, Madelyn Morgan '19, Ireland Ward '19, Zeming Lu '19, Tian Wu '20, Zhengjie Liu '20 and Henrique Bento '19 earned their membership to the society through the effective demonstration of the four qualities of scholarship, leadership, service, and character.

Membership of the National Honor Society is one of the highest honors that can be awarded to a high school student. The Society was founded in 1921, its goal being to create an organization that would recognize and encourage academic achievement while developing other characteristics essential to citizens in a democracy.

No student is inducted simply because of a high academic average. The National Honor Society strives to recognize the total student: one who excels in all of the aforementioned areas. Membership, however, is more than an honor. It incurs a responsibility and an obligation to demonstrate those outstanding qualities that resulted in each student's selection.

Our students continue to exemplify what it means to be high achievers. Despite the challenges and rigor which come along with attending a private boarding school like Hoosac, these seven students inducted have succeeded tremendously and have done so with grace. We are very excited to see what the final two weeks of the school year have in store.